Mission Statement

The Mission of the Department of Anesthesiology at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center is to provide the highest quality anesthesia care to the patients of this institution and to advance the science of the specialty through research and teaching. We are committed to providing our services to the patients of Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in a comprehensive and compassionate manner that maintains human dignity and is in conformance with the mission of the Cedars-Sinai Medical Center.


Vision Statement

An academic medical center must provide excellent care that is compassionate and competent, focusing on the needs of the community as well as striving to continuously improve its services.



  • To train physicians who strive for excellence and to continuously learn and improve their practice
  • To train physicians to become outstanding anesthesiologists
  • To train physicians to give comprehensive and compassionate medical care to all patients
  • To train physicians in the ethical practice of medicine
  • To train physicians to become Diplomates of the American Board of Anesthesiology


Anesthesiology Residency Program

The Anesthesiology Residency Program at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center is ACGME accredited (effective 02/01/2007). 8 categorical positions at the first year clinical level are offered. The residency program consists of a Clinical Base Year (CBY, 12 months) and 36 months of Clinical Anesthesiology training.

For more information, please visit the Anesthesiology General Information Website


Anesthesiology Fellowship Programs:

The Department of Anesthesiology at Cedars-Sinai offers 4 fellowships in the following Specialties:

  • Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellowship Program (ACGME accredited)
  • Pain Management Anesthesiology Fellowship Program. (ACGME accredited)
  • Obstetric Anesthesiology Fellowship Program (ACGME accredited)
  • Liver Anesthesiology Fellowship Program. (ACGME non-accredited)

For more information, please visit our Fellowship Program Website


Department of Anesthesiology

  • Co-Chair, Julian Gold, MD
  • Co-Chair, Ronald H. Wender, MD


Anesthesiology Residency Program

  • Academic Chair, Ronald H. Wender, MD


Program Director/Director of Educational Programs

  • Roya Yumul, MD, Ph.D.