Department Faculty

Members of the Department either have a primary appointment in Biomedical Sciences or a joint appointment, where which the primary appointment is in another department. In many cases, members of the department also have affiliations with an institute or research institute.

Leon G Fine, MD
Professor of Biomedical Sciences
Chair, Biomedical Sciences
Director, Graduate Research Education
leon.fine@cshs.org, 310-423-6457
Scientific interests: Chronic renal disease

C Noel Bairey Merz, MD, FACC, FAHA.
Director, Women's Heart Center
Director, Preventive and Rehabilitative Cardiac Center Women's Guild Endowed Chair in Women's Health
Heart Institute Professor of Medicine Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
noel.baireymerz@cshs.org, 310-423-9680
Scientific interests: Development, diagnosis, pathophysiology, and prevention of ischemic heart disease, with an emphasis on gender and sex-specific differences as well as complementary and alternative medical therapies such as meditation and acupuncture.

Richard Bergman, PhD
Director, Diabetes and Obesity Research Institute, Biomedical Sciences
Professor, Biodmedical Sciences
Professor, Medicine
richard.bergman@cshs.org, 310-967-2796
Scientific interests: The relationships between obesity, insulin resistance and diabetes.

Kenneth Bernstein, MD
Professor of Biomedical Sciences
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Director, Experimental Pathology
Research Scientist, Biomedical Sciences
kenneth.bernstein@cshs.org, 310-423-7562
Scientific interests: Renin-angiotensin system

Helen Goodridge, PhD
Joint with Department of Medicine
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Sciences
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Research Scientist, Biomedical Sciences, Immunobiology Research Institute
helen.goodridge@cshs.org, 310-423-7582
Scientific interests: Innate immunity- detection of microbes and microbial components by myeloid phagcoytes

Jonathan Kaye, PhD
Joint with SOCCI and Gene Therapeutics Research Institute
Professor of Biomedical Sciences
Professor of Medicine
Research Scientist, Biomedical Sciences
jonathan.kaye@cshs.org, 310-423-6541
Scientific interests: Molecular regulation of immune system

Maya Koronyo-Hamaoui, PhD
Joint with Department of Neurosurgery
Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery
Neuroimmunology laboratory, the Maxine-Dunitz Neurosurgical Institute
maya.koronyo@cshs.org, 310-423-7473
Scientific interests: Alzheimer’s disease: repair mechanisms, immunotherapy and early diagnosis assessed by retinal pathology

George Y. Liu, MD PhD
Joint with Department of Pediatrics, Division of Infectious Diseases
and the Immunobiology Research Institute
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
george.liu@cshs.org, 310-423-4471
Scientific interests: Microbial pathogenesis

Alexander Ljubimov, PhD
Joint with Department of Surgery
Professor of Surgery
Director, Division of Ophthamology Research
alexander.ljubimov@cshs.org, 310-423-7645
Scientific interests: Gene therapy for diabetic keratopathy.

Lali Medina-Kauwe, PhD
Associate Professor of Biomedical Sciences
Research Scientist, Biomedical Sciences
lali.medinakauwe@cshs.org, 310-423-7339
Scientific interests: Cancer cell-targeted nanotherapeutics

Sandra Orsulic, PhD
Joint with Department of OB/GYN and Women’s Cancer Research Institute
Director, Women’s Cancer Biology
sandra.orsulic@cshs.org, 310-423-9546
Scientific interests: Initiation and metastasis of ovarian cancer

Miklos Peterfy, PhD
Director, Murine Models of Metabolic Disease Lab, Biomedical Sciences
Professor, Human Genetics
Associate Professor, Medicine
miklos.peterfy@cshs.org, 310-423-0314
Scientific interests: Genetics of metabolic diseases

V Krishnan Ramanujan, PhD
Joint with Department of Surgery
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Research Scientist, Minimally Invasive Surgical Technologies Institute (MISTI)
ramanujanv@cshs.org, 310-423-2090
Scientific interests: Cancer cell transformation, optical imaging.

Leslie Raffel, MD
Joint with Medical Genetics Institute
Professor of Pediatrics
Director, General Clinical Research Center
Associate Director, Common Disease Genetics Program
leslie.raffel@cshs.org, 310-423-2703
Scientific interests: Delineation of the genetic basis of susceptibility to common adult-onset diseases

Wafa Tawackoli, PhD
Joint with Department of Surgery
Instructor of Surgery
Research Scientist, Biomedical Sciences
Associate Director, Molecular and Micro-imaging Core
wafa.tawackoli@cshs.org, 310-423-8070
Scientific interests: Spine stem cell therapeutics

David Underhill, PhD
Joint with Department of Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology
Associate Professor of Medicine
Director, Graduate Program in Biomedical Sciences and Translational Medicine
Research Scientist, Immunobiology Research Institute
Director, Flow Cytometry Core
david.underhill@cshs.org, 310-423-7654
Scientific interests: Phagocyte signal transduction mechanisms in inflammatory response

Yifang (Jimmy) Zhou, PhD
Instructor of Biomedical Sciences
Imaging Physicist
Associate Director, Molecular and Micro-imaging Core
jimmy.zhou@cshs.org, 310-423-4336
Scientific interests: Quantification of molecular imaging, stem cell imaging, cardiovascular imaging, and the CT dosimetry study.