Lab Members

no photo available

Gamze Kuser Abali, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow Email: gamze.kuserabali@cshs.org

Learn More
Kuser Abali is a postdoctoral fellow of Bekir Cinar, PhD. She characterizes the cross-talk between intracellular Hippo (Mst1/2) signaling and prostate cancer progression.
no photo available

Ahmet Alptekin, MD

Visiting Scientist Email: ahmet.alptekin@cshs.org

Learn More
Alptekin is a postdoctoral fellow for Bekir Cinar, PhD. He conducts biochemical and molecular analyses of the action of Mst1 on prostate cancer cells.
no photo available

Ikuko Bentsi-Barnes, PhD

Research Administrative Coordinator Email: ikuko.bentsi-barnes@cshs.org

Learn More
Bentsi-Barnes is a supporting staff member of the Uro-Oncology Research Program.
no photo available

Chia-Yi Chu, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow Email: chia-yi.chu@cshs.org

Learn More
Chu characterized the roles of RANKL-RANK signaling in cancer growth and metastasis. She determines the convergent signaling network between RANK and c-Met that regulates cancer bone colonization.
Bekir Cinar, PhD

Bekir Cinar, PhD

Assistant Professor Email: bekir.cinar@cshs.org

Learn More
Cinar is an assistant professor of medicine at Cedars-Sinai and UCLA. He and his colleagues discovered Mst1/Stk4, a Hippo-like serine-threonine kinase, implicated in many cancers, including prostate and lung cancers.
no photo available

Dennis Jen-Ming Huang, PhD

Research Scientist Email: jen-ming.huang@cshs.org

Learn More
Huang is a postdoctoral fellow of medicine at Cedars-Sinai. His research focuses on network analyses of metastatic prostate cancer with focus on molecular mechanisms underlying osteoblastic and osteolytic related gene expression by human prostate cancer cell lines.
Wen-Chin Huang, PhD

Wen-Chin Huang, PhD

Assistant Professor Email: wen-chin.huang@cshs.org

Learn More
Huang is an assistant professor of medicine at Cedars-Sinai. His research focuses on his new discovery of the roles SREBP1 and SREBP2 play in lipid metabolism and in prostate carcinogenesis.
no photo available

Sajni Josson, PhD

Project Scientist Email: sajni.josson@cshs.org

Learn More
Josson studies the role of microRNA in prostate cancer progression. She determines the role of specific oncogenic and tumor suppressive microRNA in the regulation of the tumor-stroma interaction in prostate cancer and in bone metastasis.
no photo available

Qinlong Li, MD, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow Email: qinlong.li@cshs.org

Learn More
Li is a pathologist who assists with the analysis and interpretation of clinical and experimental cancer specimens and metastatic human prostate cancer models.
no photo available

Xiangyan Li, MD, PhD

Research Post Doctor Email: xiangyan.li@cshs.org

Learn More
Li is a postdoctoral fellow of Wen-Chin Huang, PhD. She characterizes the molecular aspects of SREBP action.
no photo available

Chunyan Liu, BS

Research Associate Email: chunyan.liu@cshs.org

Learn More
Liu performs CTC isolation, biobanking, and multiplex quantum dot evaluation of clinical specimens.
no photo available

Srinivas Nandana, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow Email: srinivas.nandana@cshs.org

Learn More
Nandana is a transgenic mouse expert whose research interest is elucidating T-box transcription factor and RANKL in cancer cell growth, survival, and metastasis.
no photo available

Changhong Shi, MD, PhD

Visiting Scientist Email: changhong.shi@cshs.org

Learn More
Shi is a visiting scientist of medicine. He investigates the molecular mechanisms underlying human prostate cancer metastases with focus on dietary cholesterol and circulating testosterone.
no photo available

Ruoxiang Wang, MD, PhD

Associate Professor Email: ruoxiang.wang@cshs.org

Learn More
Wang is an associate professor of medicine at both Cedars-Sinai and UCLA. He characterizes the stem cell phenotypes in prostate cancer cells, defines the fusion between prostate cancer epithelial and prostate stromal cells, and explores the use of stem cells as therapeutic targeting agent.
no photo available

Boyang (Jason) Wu, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow Email: boyangjason.wu@cshs.org

Learn More
Wu discovered an exciting novel therapeutic target, monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAO), and also characterizes the mechanism of hypoxia regulating MAO expression and near-infrared dye uptake in prostate cancer cells.
no photo available

Haiyen E. Zhau, PhD

Professor Email: haiyen.zhau@cshs.org

Learn More
Zhau is a professor of medicine at Cedars-Sinai. Her research interest is cancer plasticity and EMT. She developed multiplex imaging technology at the single cell level for cancer prognosis, diagnosis, and treatment follow-up, and for gene expression profiling of CTC in prostate cancer cell models and clinical specimens.
no photo available

Shabnam Ziaee, BD

Graduate Student Email: shabnam.ziaee@cshs.org

Learn More
Ziaee's research focuses on elucidating the roles of androgen receptor and integrins in prostate cancer progression and metastasis.