Lab Members

Ken Catchpole, PhD

Director, Surgical Safety and Human Factors Email: ken.catchpole@cshs.org

Learn More
Catchpole is director of surgical safety and human factors research. He has pioneered direct observation and human factors improvement techniques in surgery, joining Cedars-Sinai from the University of Oxford in 2011 to embark on projects in trauma, hand offs, teamwork, and systems redesign. He is best known for his work translating expertise from motor racing teams to improve high-risk surgical hand offs.
Eric J. Ley MD, FACS

Eric Ley, MD

Medical Director, Surgical Critical Care Unit Email: eric.ley@cshs.org

Learn More
Ley is a surgeon specializing in improving trauma care systems. He is medical director of the Cedars-Sinai surgical critical care unit and program director for the trauma and critical care fellowship.

Jennifer Blaha, MBA

Manager, Project Efficiency Email: jennifer.blaha@cshs.org

Learn More
Jennifer Blaha is a Lean Six Sigma Master Black Belt. She oversees house-wide improvement projects focused on operations and clinical quality. She is currently focused on improving efficiency in the various procedural areas, improving trauma outcomes and incorporating human factors principles into clinical quality initiatives.

Daniel Shouhed, MD

Senior Resident Email: daniel.shouhed@cshs.org

Learn More
Shouhed is a senior resident in the Department of Surgery. He spent his research year under the mentorship of Bruce Gewertz, MD investigating human factors in surgery, specifically looking at flow disruptions during trauma care. He is planning on pursuing a specialty in minimally invasive surgery with plans for continuing research in human factors related to the field of surgery.
Jennifer Anger, MD, MPH

Jennifer Anger, MD

Urologist Email: jennifer.anger@cshs.org

alexandra gangi, MD

Alexandra Gangi, MD

Physician Email: alexandra.gangi@cshs.org