Lab Members

Michela Ottolia, PhD

Research Scientist I Email: michela.ottolia@cshs.org

Learn More
Michela is a world-renowned expert in the structure and function of cellular transporters including the sodium-calcium exchanger. She utilizes the giant patch system in Xenopus oocytes expressing designer protein mutations, fluorescence resonance energy transfer (FRET) microscopy in oocytes and mammalian cells, and other cellular physiology techniques including patch clamp and total internal reflectance fluorescence microscopy (TIRF).

Angelo Torrente, PhD

Postdoctoral Researcher Email: angelo.torrente@cshs.org

Learn More
Angelo received his PhD in the laboratory of Matteo Mangoni in Montpelier, France. Dr. Torrente is an expert in the physiology of the sinoatrial node, and its response to genetic and pharmacologic manipulation of calcium channels and sodium-calcium exchange.

Nidhi Kapur, PhD

Postdoctoral Researcher Email: nidhi.kapur@cshs.org

Learn More
Nidhi received her PhD in the laboratory of Kathrin Banach at Loyola University Chicago. Nidhi is an expert in calcium signaling in cardiomyocytes, embryonic stem cell derived cardiomyocyte physiology and transcription factor driven transdifferentiation of ventricular myocytes to pacemaker cells.

Rui Zhang, MD

Project Scientist I Email: rui.zhang@cshs.org

Learn More
Rui is an expert in cardiac cell isolation, single cell patch clamp and fluorescence imaging, laser scanning confocal imaging, maintenance of multiple mouse colonies, immunohistochemistry and DNA analysis.

Scott Lamp, BS

Management Assistant II Email: scott.lamp@cshs.org

Learn More
Scott has over 25 years experience managing the laboratory and is also an expert in HPLC, large animal cardiac cell isolation, Langendorff preparation of the heart, septal artery preparation, floating microelectrode recording, cardiac cell imaging, computational analysis and complex image processing using IDL, MatLab, and C++.

Jeanney Kang, BS

Research Associate I Email: jeanney.kang@cshs.org

Learn More
Jeanny is a recent graduate of USC. She was her high school valedictorian and a Presidential Scholar throughout her undergraduate studies at USC. Jeanney has extensive experience in molecular biology, animal handling, and tissue harvesting.

Audrey Zaini

Work-Study Student Email: audrey.zaini@cshs.org

Learn More
Audrey is a senior at UCLA and is the very first Cedars-Sinai work-study student from UCLA.

Ashley Rosenberg

Volunteer Email: ashley.rosenberg@cshs.org

Learn More
Ashley is a junior at UCLA.

Ailene Bui

Volunteer Email: ailene.bui@cshs.org

Learn More
Ailene is getting a postbaccalaureate premedical degree at USC. Ailene is a former IBM global executive.
Android app on Google Play