Lab Members

Karen Cavassani

Karen Cavassani, PhD

Project Scientist Email: karen.cavassani@cshs.org

Learn More

Karen Cavassani, PhD, is an immunologist by training, and her current research is directed at elucidating innate and adaptive immune signals that instigate and/or promote prostate cancer metastasis. She is also exploring the role of Fyn kinase on the expression of immune checkpoint inhibitors during the progression of prostate cancer. Cavassani completed her master's degree and doctorate in immunology at the University of Sao Paulo, and received her postdoctoral training at the University of Michigan Medical School (UMMS). She was a faculty member in the Department of Pathology at UMMS prior to her move to Cedars Sinai. She has published more than 30 peer-reviewed publications in high-impact journals, such as Journal Experimental Medicine, Journal of Immunology and Blood.

Jie-Fu Jeff Chen

Jie-Fu (Jeff) Chen, MD

Postdoctoral Scientist Email: jie-fu.chen@cshs.org

Learn More

Jie-Fu (Jeff) Chen, MD, joined the Posadas Laboratory after completing his medical degree at National Taiwan University. He heads the research efforts of the joint Cedars-Sinai/UCLA circulating tumor cell project. The goals of his work are to study circulating tumor cell as a biomarker for cancer evolution and to utilize this knowledge to improve cancer diagnosis and therapy. Chen is a physician scientist who is pursuing a career in translational research in pathology with the intent of combining his research and clinical interests to advance the field.

Shirley Cheng

Shirley Cheng

Research Lab Assistant I Email: shirley.cheng@cshs.org

Learn More

Shirley Cheng conducts experimental work and blood processing for the circulating tumor cells project along side of Jeff Chen, MD. She is skilled in using the nanofluidic system for cell capture and taking microscopy images. Cheng is a recent graduate of UCLA and received her bachelor’s of science in microbiology, immunology and molecular genetics.

no photo available

Elizabeth Kaufman

Medical Student Email: elizabeth.kaufman@cshs.org

no photo available

Amy Gomez

Staff Assistant Email: amy.gomez@cshs.org

Kevin Scher, MD MBA

Associate Member, UOP Email: kevin.scher@cshs.org

Nancy Moldawer

Nancy Moldawer, RN, MSN

Lead Research Nurse Email: nancy.moldawer@cshs.org

Learn More

Nancy Moldawer, RN, MSN, oversees all clinical research activities of the Urologic Oncology Program and serves as a nurse leader within the clinical research office. She oversees all protocol development and clinical-translational research activities in the UOP and the Posadas Laboratory.

Amy Oppenheim

Amy Oppenheim

Clinical Research Coordinator Email: amy.oppenheim@cshs.org

Learn More

Amy Oppenheim oversees clinical and translational research in prostate cancer for the Posadas Laboratory. She facilitates trail development, research patient screening, data collection, and in collaboration with Margarit Sievert, oversees sample acquisition from clinical studies for research.

no photo available

Johanna Han

Clinical Research Coordinator Email: johanna.han@cshs.org

no photo available

James MacDonald

Lead Clinical Nurse III Email: james.macdonald@cshs.org

no photo available

Terence Cook

Management Assistant II Email: terence.cook@cshs.org

no photo available

Arcadia Hernandez

Academic Assistant