Lab Members

Courtney Becker

Lab Manager Email: courtney.becker@cshs.org

no photo available

Fernando Espinoza-Mercado, MD

Visiting Scientist Email: fernando.mercado@cshs.org

Matthew Gargus

Research Associate Email: matthew.gargus@cshs.org

Muhammad Umair Khalique

Research Associate Email: muhammad.khalique@cshs.org

no photo available

Jung Lee

Research Associate Email: jung.lee@cshs.org

Jose Limon-Tello, PhD

Project Scientist Email: jose.limon-tello@cshs.org

Learn More

Jose Limon-Tello, PhD, received his bachelor’s degree from the University of California, Santa Barbara, and his doctorate from the University of California, Irvine, where he investigated the immunomodulatory effects of active-site mTOR kinase inhibitors in the laboratory of David Fruman, PhD. Limon-Tello’s current research interests are on host mycobiota interactions as they relate to health and disease in the gastrointestinal tract.

no photo available

Viviana Maymi

Research Associate Email: viviana.maymi@cshs.org

Christopher Nguyen

Research Associate Email: christopher.nguyenx@cshs.org

Seeun Oh

Seeun Oh

Graduate Student Email: seeun.oh@cshs.org

Learn More

Seeun Oh received her bachelor's degree and master's degree from South Korea. She moved to the United States in 2012 and worked as a research assistant at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill before joining the Graduate Program in Biomedical Science and Translational Medicine at Cedars-Sinai. Her current research focuses on the role of hexokinase, an enzyme of glycolysis, in innate responses to microbial recognition.

Marissa Paterson

Graduate Student Email: marissa.paterson@cshs.org

Learn More

Marissa Paterson graduated from Loyola Marymount University with a bachelor’s degree in biochemistry before joining the Graduate Program in Biomedical Science and Translational Medicine at Cedars-Sinai. Her research focuses on dectin-1-triggered LC3-associated phagocytosis and its role in shaping adaptive immune responses.

no photo available

Purnima Sharma

Research Associate I Email: purnima.sharma@cshs.org

no photo available

Xiaoshan "Shirley" Shi

Postdoctoral Scientist Email: xiaoshan.shi@cshs.org

Learn More

Xiaoshan "Shirley" Shi is a postdoctoral scientist co-supervised by Stephen Shiao, MD, PhD, and David Underhill, PhD. Her current focus is on understanding the role of intestinal immunity and microbiome in mediating host response to intestinal infections upon ionizing radiation.

Joseph Skalski, MD

Visiting Scientist Email: joseph.skalski@cshs.org

Learn More

Joseph Skalski, MD, is a pulmonologist whose chief scientific interest is understanding the importance of respiratory and gut fungal organisms (i.e., the mycobiota) in influencing chronic respiratory diseases such as asthma and COPD. He completed pulmonary critical care fellowship training in 2016 and is a visiting Mayo Clinic Scholar from the Division of Pulmonary Critical Care at the Mayo Clinic.

Andrea Wolf, PhD

Assistant Professor Email: andrea.wolf@cshs.org

Learn More

Andrea Wolf, PhD, received her doctorate in biomedical sciences from the University of California, San Francisco, where she studied the adaptive T cell responses to Mycobacterium tuberculosis infection. Wolf then joined the Underhill Laboratory to study the innate immune responses of phagocytic cells to microbes. Her research has focused on the role that degradation of the bacterial cell wall plays in the induction of inflammatory signals necessary for controlling bacterial infections such as Staphylococcus aureus. Wolf has identified a role for the metabolic enzyme hexokinase in innate immune sensing of bacterial cell wall peptidoglycan. Her research has begun to examine the connections between cellular metabolism and the sensing of microbes by phagocytic cells.