Rita Shane, PharmD, FASHP, FCSHP

Chief Pharmacy Officer, Pharmacy Services
PGY-2 Health-System Pharmacy Administration Residency Program Director
Professor, Medicine

Rita Shane, PharmD, FASHP, FCSHP, is director of pharmacy services at Cedars-Sinai, a 886-bed acute and tertiary-care teaching institution in Los Angeles, California, and assistant dean of Clinical Pharmacy Services at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) School of Pharmacy. She is responsible for more than 380 staff members. Shane’s goal is to ensure that wherever patients need care, there is a demand for pharmacists to ensure optimal management of medications.

Over the years, Shane has been recognized for her passion for the profession. She received the 2012 Harvey A.K. Whitney Award from the American Society of Health System Pharmacists (ASHP). In 2007, she received the California Society of Health-System Pharmacists (CSHP) Pharmacist of the Year Award and the Distinguished Service Award from the ASHP Section of Pharmacy Practice Managers. She received the 2005 ASHP Distinguished Leadership Award and the 1995 John Webb Visiting Professorship in Hospital Pharmacy for management excellence.

Shane was a co-investigator in two research studies in collaboration with the UCSF School of Pharmacy and was approved by the California State Board of Pharmacy to demonstrate the safety and importance of allowing technicians to check technician-filled medication cassettes in hospitals. She also worked with CSHP to author language in support of this regulatory change, which was approved by the state of California effective in January 2007. She was co-investigator of a 2000 National Patient Safety Foundation Research Award to study the impact of dedicated medication nurses on the rate of medication administration errors in a randomized, controlled trial, the results of which were published in the Archives of Internal Medicine.

Developing one of the first pharmacist and technician career ladders, Shane also developed a clinical pharmacy intervention program in 1983 to document the role of pharmacists in preventing adverse drug events and has created a number of clinical specialty positions. She and her staff have participated in the development of evidence-based medication guidelines at Cedars-Sinai.

Shane's significant practice achievements include being the 1995 recipient of the John Webb Visiting Professorship in Hospital Pharmacy on the subject of management excellence. Her presentation "Pharmacy Without Walls" was published in the February 1996 issue of the American Journal of Health-System Pharmacists. She was selected as the 1996 keynote speaker for the Hong Kong Society of Hospital Pharmacists. Her participation in the development of a Prospective Physician Reviewer System for Strategic Management of Therapeutic Advances was awarded first place in the 1993 Abbott National Pharmacy Quality Awards. In 1999, the Pharmacy Department at Cedars-Sinai was awarded first and second place in the Abbott National Pharmacy Quality Awards in continuity of care and pain management.

Shane served as the U.S. facilitator at the Global Conference on the Future of Hospital Pharmacy held during the 68th Congress of the International Pharmaceutical Federation and was responsible for reviewing the international literature on medication administration. She was one of the investigators in a multicenter study of medication errors detected by emergency department pharmacists, which was published in the Annals of Emergency Medicine. Shane has participated on committees and task forces at the state and national levels; she was a member of the American Hospital Association Committee on Health Professions and the National Quality Forum Patient Safety Advisory Committee. She has made presentations at local, state, national and international meetings and has published over 75 papers in the pharmacy literature, including a background paper for the recent Pharmacy Practice Model Summit.