APN - Certified Nurse-Midwives

Certified nurse-midwives (CNMs) are advanced practice nurses with additional training in delivering babies and providing prenatal and postpartum care to women.

Certified nurse-midwives are educated in both nursing and midwifery and are certified by the American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM).

Certified nurse-midwives provide a full range of primary healthcare services to women at Cedars-Sinai, including:

  • Routine gynecological checkups
  • Family planning services
  • Preconception care
  • Prenatal care
  • Postpartum care
  • Delivery of babies

Certified nurse-midwives attend births at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. They are educated to recognize signs and symptoms that are different than normal conditions. A Certified nurse-midwife will consult with a physician who may become involved in the delivery if needed.


What Is Required For Certification as a Nurse-Midwife?

To be certified, a nurse-midwife must be:

  • Formally educated in midwifery through an accredited program associated with an institution of higher learning
  • Demonstrate clinical competence, and
  • pass a rigorous national certifying exam.

Certified Nurse-Midwives are licensed to practice in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. With nearly 7,000 members, the American College of Nurse-Midwives is the largest and oldest standard-setting organization for the midwifery profession in the United States.