Bioethics Committee

The Role of the Cedars-Sinai Bioethics Committee

The Cedar-Sinai Bioethics Committee is a standing committee of the Cedar-Sinai medical staff. Its membership, however, is multidisciplinary, drawing individuals from all elements of healthcare services within the organization, including, but not limited to, representatives from the faculty and voluntary medical staffs, nursing services, social services, administration, chaplaincy, various ancillary care staffs and faculty of the Center for Healthcare Ethics. In addition, the committee includes representatives from the lay public.

The function of the Bioethics Committee is to advise on matters consistent with Cedars-Sinai's Administrative Policy and Procedures Manuel listed in Article XIX of the Rules and Regulations. Regulation-specific duties of the committee include:

  • Advise in the formulation of Medical Staff Rules and Regulation and Policy and Procedures documents pertaining to ethical considerations within Cedars-Sinai
  • Provide a forum for discussion of ethical considerations associated with the organization's clinical, educational and research mission
  • Foster awareness of ethical issues and concerns within the organization by assisting in the creation and implementation of educational and informational programs and activities

In special instances, the Bioethics Committee may serve as a resource for the Clinical Ethics Consultation Service, which is the clinical service arm of the Center for Healthcare Ethics.

The Bioethics Committee is led by a chair who is appointed in accordance with Medical Staff Rules and Regulations. The director of the Center for Healthcare Ethics serves as the committee's co-chair.

Current Officers (2014-16)

Chair Co-Chair   Vice Chair
Daniel Stone, MD
General Internal Medicine
Stuart G. Finder, PhD
Director - Center for Healthcare Ethics
Eve Makoff, MD
General Internal Medicine

Current Members

Center for Healthcare Ethics

Virginia Bartlett, PhD - assistant director
Kenneth Leeds, MD - associate director


Caron Broidy
Peter B. Gruenberg, MD (Psychiatry and Psychoanalysis)
Jeffery Pomerance, MD, MPH (retired - Neonatology)
Tom Weinberger, MBA, MA

Medical Staff

Elizabeth Behringer, MD - Anesthesiology/Critical Care
Eugenio Cingolani, MD - Internal Medicine/Cardiology
Francis Dailey, MD - General Internal Medicine
Rena Falk, MD - Medical Genetics
Pamela Fenton, MD -  Obstetrics and Gynecology
Joel Geiderman, MD - co-director, Emergency Medicine
Carol H. Hurvitz, MD - Pediatrics/Hematology-Oncology
Carole Jordan-Harris, MD, MS - Obstetrics and Gynecology
Ellen Klapper, MD - Pathology and Labratory
Irving Lebovics, DDS, Dentistry Program 
Deborah Lehman, MD - Pediatrics
Arthur Lipper, MD - General Internal Medicine
Larry Maldonado, MD - General Internal Medicine (Critical Care)
Heather Merry, MD - Thoracic Surgery
Asma Moheet, MD - Neurology/Critical Care
Zab Mosenifar, MD - Internal Medicine/Pulmonary & Critical Care
Said Rahban, MD - Internal Medicine/Gastoenterlogy
Bradley Rosen, MD - General Internal Medicine
Irwin Ruben, MD - Psychiatry
Virginia Russell, MD - Internal Medicine/Endocrinology
Kaveh Sharif, MD - Internal Medicine/Nephrology
Anna Solt, MD - Psychiatry
Colin Stokol, MD - Neurology
Nicolas Szumski, MD - Neurology
Sam Torbati, MD - Emergency Medicine
Evgeny Tsimerinov, MD, PhD - Neurology
Michael Van Scoy-Mosher, MD -  Hematology Oncology
Cristianne Vallera, MD - Anesthesiology
Alan Weinberger, MD - Internal Medicine/Rheumatology

Nursing Staff

Harmik Abrahamian, RN, CN IV, CNOR - OR/Anesthesia
Donna Bias, RN - clinical coordinator, Center for International Health
Kristi Butenschoen, MSN, RN, NP - Interventional Radiology
Janet Kimble, CCRN - Pediatrics Pulmonary
Ellen Mack, MN, RNC - neonatal clinical nurse specialist, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit
Lori Mountain, RN, CN III - 4 Southeast
Marilyn Shirk, MN, RN, mental health CNS, nursing liaison
Sophia Telfer, RN, CN III - 6 Southeast
Ariel Weber, RN, CN III - Cardiac-Surgical Intensive Care Unit

Other Care Staff

Eskedar Gobeze, RN (Lidia Toledo, MSN, RN)  - Patient Relations
Michelle R. Hackley, RN, Esq. - Risk Management
Lydia Limenes, RN - Case Management
Samantha Stewart, LCSW - Case Management./Social Work
Rabbi Jason Weiner - senior rabbi/manager, Spiritual Care