Department of Biomedical Sciences

Faculty and graduate students at the annual student retreat in 2016.

Department of Biomedical Sciences

The Department of Biomedical Sciences was created in 2007 as the single nonclinical research department at Cedars-Sinai. The central mission of Biomedical Sciences is to provide a home for basic research scientists.

Biomedical Sciences is organized to encourage collaboration across multiple clinical departments to further scientific and medical progress. Currently, the department is comprised of 40 primary faculty appointments together with 60 jointly appointed faculty members from seven other departments including: Medicine, Surgery, Neurosurgery, Pediatrics, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Radiation Oncology and Pathology and with the Smidt Heart Institute, The Cancer Institute and the Regenerative Medicine Institute.

Education is also a key mandate of the Department of Biomedical Sciences, with graduate research programs focused on the translation of scientific discoveries into the application of therapies, treatments and cures. The department has three programs to provide an infrastructure and support system for those interested in fundamental research, including the Graduate PhD Program, Clinical Scholars Program, Postdoctoral Scientist Program.

The department includes those with a primary appointment, and those who have a primary appointment in a clinical department with a joint appointment in Biomedical Sciences.

Constituent Research Institutes, Centers and Divisions

Department of Biomedical Sciences Leadership
Chair: Leon Fine, MD
Vice Chair: Jonathan Kaye, PhD

Research Core Facilities

Faculty members in the Department of Biomedical Sciences perform important roles in the Cedars-Sinai research core facilities.