McGovern and Shaw Elected to Honor Society

Two Cedars-Sinai physician-scientists have been elected members of the American Society for Clinical Investigation.

Among the 76 new members of the organization are Dermot McGovern, MD, PhD, FRCP(Lon), director of Translational Medicine in the F. Widjaja Foundation Inflammatory Bowel and Immunobiology Research Institute, and cardiologist Robin Shaw, MD, PhD, of the Smidt Heart Institute. Shaw runs a lab identifying the molecular mechanisms of heart failure progression and is developing diagnostics to improve heart failure treatment.

The American Society for Clinical Investigation, based in Ann Arbor, Mich., is an honor society of more than 3,000 physician-scientists from all specialties who are elected for their outstanding records of scholarly achievement in biomedical research.

Each year, the society considers the nominations of several hundred candidates and chooses up to 80 new members. With the election of McGovern and Shaw, Cedars-Sinai now has 10 active members in the society.

This year’s new members will be inducted April 25 at a ceremony during the society’s annual meeting in Chicago.


*Photos (from top): Dermot McGovern, MD, PhD, FRCP(Lon); and Robin Shaw, MD, PhD