Grant and Contract Services

Sponsored Research and Funds Administration (SRFA) provides a full range of grant and contract services to Cedars-Sinai researchers. The Grant and Contract Services team supports institutional efforts to expand knowledge for the advancement of medicine by providing administrative support for the acquisition of grant funding and compliance oversight of the grant upon its award. Our team consists of officers who are experts in proposal review and submission, contract negotiation, award management and compliance. All federal and nonprofit proposals for sponsored research funding (regardless of submission type) are routed through the SRFA Grants and Contract Services team prior to submission. The Grant and Contract Services officers are designated as Authorized Organization Representatives, who can review, approve, negotiate and sign on behalf of Cedars-Sinai.

SRFA Grant and Contract Services officers work with a range of sponsors, including the National Institutes of Health, California Institute of Regenerative Medicine, American Heart Association and many others.

The SRFA Grant and Contract Services team's functions includes:

  • Review and institutional approval of all sponsored research proposals
  • For updated A-133 and negotiated rates, please click on the following links:
  • Advocacy and liaison with federal agencies, nonprofit organizations and subaward partners
  • Negotiations with federal, nonprofit and private institutions
  • Award management for the following:
    • Just-in-Time
    • Rebudgeting requests
    • Carry-forward requests
    • No-cost extension
    • Requests for reduction of effort
    • Subcontract monitoring
    • Award modifications
    • Interim and final reporting
    • Financial conflict of interest reporting
  • Award Transfers (incoming and outgoing)
  • Compliance oversight in the areas of sponsor regulations
  • Training and education in research administration and compliance
  • Award closeout

Contacts

Matthew Kirk
Manager, Grant and Contract Services
Email: matthew.kirk@cshs.org
Phone: 323-866-6957


Brenda Blakley-Spain
Senior Grant and Contract Officer
Email: brenda.blakley-spain@cshs.org
Phone: 323-866-6928


Lesa DeVance
Principal Grant and Contract Officer
Email: lesa.devance@cshs.org
Phone: 323-866-6919


Lloyd Dysim
Senior Grant and Contract Officer
Email: lloyd.dysim@cshs.org
Phone: 323-866-6953


Brenda Ford
Principal Grant and Contract Officer
Grant Transfer Specialist
Email: brenda.ford@cshs.org
Phone: 323-866-6920


Colleen Loew
Senior Grant and Contract Officer
Email: colleen.loew@cshs.org
Phone: 323-866-6930


Stacy Miller
Senior Grant and Contract Officer
Email: stacy.miller@cshs.org
Phone: 310-423-6465


Helen Morales
Grant and Contract Officer
Email: helen.morales@cshs.org
Phone: 323-866-6939


John Monetti
Grant and Contract Officer
Email: john.monetti@cshs.org
Phone: 323-866-2857


Tansy Aguilar

Grant and Contract Officer
Email: tansy.aguilar@cshs.org
Phone: 323-866-6865


Joanne Lazzaro
Senior Research Curriculum Specialist
Email: joanne.lazzaro@cshs.org
Phone: 310-423-4603