Lab Members

Travis Antes PhD

Travis Antes, PhD

Research Scientist II Email: travis.antes@cshs.org

Learn More

Travis Antes, PhD, earned his bachelor's degree in biochemistry from Texas A&M University, then pursued his master's degree and doctorate in molecular and cell biology from the University of Texas, Dallas. Antes and his colleagues are researching the molecular factors involved in exosome signaling to develop novel applications in human regenerative medicine.

Linda Cambier, PhD

Postdoctoral Research Fellow Email: linda.cambier@cshs.org

Learn More

Linda Cambier, PhD, is researching the cardioprotective role of cardiosphere-derived cells following ischemia-reperfusion injury. Currently, his work is focused on gaining a better understanding of the endogenous cardiac and inflammatory responses governing repair.

Jae Hyung Cho, MD

Postdoctoral Research Fellow Email: jaehyung.cho@cshs.org

Learn More

Jae Hyung Cho, MD, is researching the mechanisms of arrhythmia and sudden cardiac death in heart failure with preserved ejection fraction. Cho earned his medical degree from University of Ulsan, Korea, and trained in internal medicine at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Cho is currently a doctoral candidate in the Cedars-Sinai Graduate Program.

James Dawkins, DVM

Postdoctoral Research Fellow Email: james.dawkins@cshs.org

Geoffrey de Couto, PhD

Postdoctoral Research Fellow Email: geoffrey.decouto@cshs.org

Learn More

Geoffrey de Couto, PhD, is researching the cardioprotective role of cardiosphere-derived cells following ischemia-reperfusion injury. Currently, his work is focused on gaining a better understanding of the endogenous cardiac and inflammatory responses governing repair.

Lilian Grigorian, MD, PhD

Postdoctoral Research Fellow Email: lilian.grigorian@cshs.org

Learn More

The research focus of Lilian Grigorian, MD, PhD, is on cardiac regeneration post cardiosphere-derived cell treatment. She uses both small and large animal models of ischemic cardiomyopathy to evaluate the biological mechanisms that tune cardiac regeneration. Furthermore, she studies the mechanisms that target vessel density, cardiomyocytes hypertrophy, and cardiac fibrosis post-myocardial infarction, with a scope to uncover new pathways to regenerate the dysfunctional myocardium.

Ervin Jaghatspanyan

Research Associate I Email: ervin.jaghatspanyan@cshs.org

Peter Kilfoil, PhD

Postdoctoral Research Fellow Email: peter.kilfoil@cshs.org

Learn More

Peter Kilfoil, PhD, is researching the electrophysiological remodeling that occurs during heart failure with preserved ejection fraction. Currently, his work focuses on elucidating changes in calcium handling and excitation-contraction coupling consequent to this disease, and understanding the contribution of these changes to cardiac dysfunction.

Weixin "Jane" Liu

Research Associate III Email: weixin.liu@cshs.org

Kristin Luther, PhD

Postdoctoral Research Fellow Email: kristin.luther@cshs.org

Learn More

Kristin Luther, PhD, is interested in the mechanisms by which the exosomes produced by cardiosphere-derived cells induce cardioprotection and angiogenesis in the context of heart failure with preserved ejection fraction. She is exploring how exosomes modulate gene expression and activate signaling pathways in different cardiac cell types.

Ryan Middleton

PhD Candidate Email: ryan.middleton@cshs.org

Hoang "Kim" Nguyenle

Research Lab Assistant I Email: hoang.nguyenle@cshs.org

Russell Rogers, PhD

Postdoctoral Research Fellow Email: russell.rogers@cshs.org

Learn More

Russell Rogers, PhD, is researching the efficacy of cardiosphere-derived cells (CDCs) to treat Duchenne muscular dystrophy. His work focuses on developing clinically relevant treatment paradigms to attenuate the pathology in both the heart and skeletal muscle. In addition, he investigates the mechanisms related to the potency of CDCs to identify candidates for next-generation therapeutics.

Lizbeth Sanchez

Research Intern Email: lizbeth.sanchez@cshs.org

Jackelyn Valle

Research Associate II Email: jackelyn.valle@cshs.org