Lab Members

Akbarshakh "Shah" Akhmerov, MD

Postdoctoral Scientist Email: akbarshakh.akhmerov@cshs.org

Antonio "Tony" Chavez, DVM

Research Associate III, Animal Surgeon

James Dawkins, DVM

Project Scientist Email: james.dawkins@cshs.org

Geoffrey de Couto, PhD

Assistant Professor Email: geoffrey.decouto@cshs.org

Learn More

Geoffrey de Couto, PhD, is researching the cardioprotective role of cardiosphere-derived cells following ischemia-reperfusion injury. Currently, his work is focused on gaining a better understanding of the endogenous cardiac and inflammatory responses governing repair.

Kevin Holm

Research Associate II Email: kevin.holm@cshs.org

Ahmed Ibrahim, PhD

Assistant Professor Email: ahmed.ibrahim@cshs.org

Peter Kilfoil, PhD

Postdoctoral Scientist Email: peter.kilfoil@cshs.org

Learn More

Peter Kilfoil, PhD, is researching the electrophysiological remodeling that occurs during heart failure with preserved ejection fraction. Currently, his work focuses on elucidating changes in calcium handling and excitation-contraction coupling consequent to this disease, and understanding the contribution of these changes to cardiac dysfunction.

Chang Li

Research Associate I Email: chang.li@cshs.org

Weixin "Jane" Liu

Research Associate III Email: weixin.liu@cshs.org

Ryan Middleton, PhD

Postdoctoral Scientist Email: ryan.middleton@cshs.org

Hoang "Kim" Nguyenle

Research Lab Assistant I Email: hoang.nguyenle@cshs.org

Thassio Ricard Ribeiro Mesquita, PhD

Postdoctoral Scientist Email: thassioricard.ribeiromesquita@cshs.org

Russell Rogers, PhD

Postdoctoral Research Fellow Email: russell.rogers@cshs.org

Learn More

Russell Rogers, PhD, is researching the efficacy of cardiosphere-derived cells (CDCs) to treat Duchenne muscular dystrophy. His work focuses on developing clinically relevant treatment paradigms to attenuate the pathology in both the heart and skeletal muscle. In addition, he investigates the mechanisms related to the potency of CDCs to identify candidates for next-generation therapeutics.

Lizbeth Sanchez

Research Associate I Email: lizbeth.sanchez@cshs.org

Jackelyn Valle

Research Associate III Email: jackelyn.valle@cshs.org