Clinical Fellows Award Won by Chakravarty, Singh

The 2014 Clinical Fellows Award for Excellence in Research at Cedars-Sinai has been won by Tarun Chakravarty, MD, and Namita Singh, MD. Each investigator received a $3,000 cash prize May 28 at a ceremony in Harvey Morse Auditorium.

The annual award, which was inaugurated in 2012, aims to foster research, enrich knowledge of health science and encourage the development of investigative curiosity among the medical center's clinical fellows. This was the second year in a row that Chakravarty has received the award.

"Once again, we were impressed by the quality and diversity of research being conducted by clinical fellows at Cedars-Sinai," said event chair Leslie J. Raffel, MD, Cedars-Sinai professor of pediatrics and site director of the University of California, Los Angeles, Clinical and Translational Science Institute (CTSI). "Given the clinical demands on these young investigators, the quality of their research is a credit to their motivation and skill. The potential for translation is very exciting."

The four award finalists also included Galinos Barmparas, MD, and Tilley Jenkins Vogel, MD. A review committee comprising Cedars-Sinai basic and clinical research faculty from a broad range of areas judged each finalist's presentation.

Chakravarty's winning submission was "Echocardiographic Assessment of Aortic Regurgitation Index and Diastolic Delta as Novel Non-invasive Predictors of Aortic Regurgitation (AR) and Outcomes After Transcatheter Aortic Valve Replacement (TAVR)." His mentor was Rajendra (Raj) Makkar, MD, director of the Interventional Cardiology and Cardiac Catheterization Laboratory at Cedars-Sinai.

Singh's winning submission was "Early Infliximab Trough Levels are Associated with Persistent Remission in Pediatric Patients with Inflammatory Bowel Disease." Her mentor was Marla Dubinsky, MD, associate professor of pediatrics and director of the Cedars-Sinai Pediatric Inflammatory Bowel Disease Program.

Photo (left to right): Namita Singh, MD, and Tarun Chakravarty, MD