Faculty and Research Team

Our outstanding team of prominent researchers and clinicians brings their specialized knowledge and proficiency to elucidate the role of microbiota in health and disease.

Steering Committee

Suzanne Devkota, PhD
Director, Human Microbiome Research Institute, Associate Professor, Medicine, Associate Professor, Biomedical Sciences
Ivan Vujkovic-Cvijin, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biomedical Sciences, Assistant Professor, Medicine
David Underhill, PhD
Professor, Biomedical Sciences, Chair, Department of Biomedical Sciences and the Janis and William Wetsman Family Chair in Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Jonathan Braun, MD, PhD
Professor, Medicine, Director, IBD Enterprise Operations, Professor, Biomedical Sciences, Professor, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Peter Jorth, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Assistant Professor, Biomedical Sciences, Assistant Professor, Medicine
Andrea Wolf, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biomedical Sciences, Assistant Professor, Medicine
Magali Noval Rivas, PhD
Associate Director, Infectious and Immunological Diseases Research Center, Assistant Professor, Biomedical Sciences


Moshe Arditi, MD
Robert Barrett, PhD
Neil Bhowmick, PhD
Francesco Boin, MD
Nunzio Bottini
David Casero, PhD, MS
Peter Chen, MD
Jane Figueiredo, PhD
Stephen Freedland, MD
Wei Gao, PhD
Jun Gong, MD
Sergey Grivennikov, PhD
Ophir Klein, MD, PhD
Dalin Li, PhD
Shelly Lu, MD
Gislaine Martins, PhD
Dermot McGovern, MD
Kathrin Michelsen, PhD
Jason Moore, PhD
Nicolas Musi
Magali Noval Rivas, PhD
Ekihiro Seki, PhD
Stephen Shiao, MD, PhD
Christian Stehlik, PhD, MS
Fayyaz Sutterwala, MD, PhD
Clive Svendsen, PhD
Stephan Targan, MD
Dan Theodorescu, MD, PhD
David Ziring, MD

Have Questions or Need Help?

Contact us if you have questions or wish to learn more about the programs and services at the Cedars-Sinai Human Microbiome Research Institute.