Meet the Smidt Heart Institute Faculty and Research Team

Our experts are widely recognized for outstanding care, leadership and original contributions to cardiac care.


Eduardo Marbán, MD, PhD
Mark Siegel Family Foundation Distinguished Professor, Executive Director, Smidt Heart Institute
Christine Albert, MD, MPH
Lee and Harold Kapelovitz Distinguished Chair in Cardiology, Chair, Department of Cardiology, Professor, Cardiology
Joanna Chikwe, MD, FRCS
The Irina and George Schaeffer Distinguished Chair in Cardiac Surgery, Chair, Department of Cardiac Surgery, Professor, Department of Cardiac Surgery

C Noel Bairey Merz, MD
Director, Barbra Streisand Women's Heart Center, Director, Preventive and Rehabilitative Cardiac Center, Director, Cedars-Sinai Clinical Scholars Program, Director, Linda Joy Pollin Women's Heart Health Program, Professor, Medicine
Peng-Sheng Chen, MD
Susan Cheng, MD
Erika J. Glazer Chair in Women's Cardiovascular Health and Population Science, Director, Cardiovascular Population Sciences, Director, Public Health Research
Sumeet Chugh, MD
Division Chief, Clinical Electrophysiology, Medical Director, Heart Rhythm Center, Director, Center for Cardiac Arrest Prevention, Pauline and Harold Price Chair in Cardiac Electrophysiology Research, Associate Director for Genomic Cardiology, Smidt Heart Institute, Director, Division of Artificial Intelligence in Medicine, Department of Medicine, Professor, Medicine
Eugenio Cingolani, MD
Director, Cardiogenetics Program, Assistant Professor, Medicine
Joseph Ebinger, MD
Director, Clinical Analytics
Ebru Erbay, MD, PhD Chen, MD
Research Faculty
Justyna Fert-Bober, PhD
Research Faculty
Joshua I. Goldhaber, MD
Dorothy and E. Phillip Lyon Chair in Laser Research, Associate Director, Coronary Intensive Care Unit, Director, Division of Applied Cell Biology and Physiology, Director, Basic Research in the Heart Institute
Roberta Gottlieb, MD
Dorothy and E. Phillip Lyon Chair in Molecular Cardiology in honor of Clarence M. Agress MD, Director, Molecular Cardiobiology, Professor, Medicine
Ekaterina Koltsova, PhD
Research Faculty
Sarah Parker, PhD, MS
Research Faculty
Prediman K. Shah, MD
Shapell and Webb Family Chair in Clinical Cardiology, Professor, Medicine, Director, Oppenheimer Atherosclerosis Research Center, Director, Atherosclerosis Prevention and Management Center, Professor, Medicine
Jennifer Van Eyk, PhD
Director, Advanced Clinical Biosystems Institute in the Department of Biomedical Sciences, Director, Basic Science Research in the Women's Heart Center, Professor, Medicine, Professor, Biomedical Sciences
Have Questions or Need Help?

Contact us if you have questions or wish to learn more about the programs and services at the Smidt Heart Institute at Cedars-Sinai.