Lab Members

Courtney Becker

Lab Manager Email: courtney.becker@cshs.org

anthony castro

Anthony Castro

Research Associate Email: anthony.castro@cshs.org

no photo available

Fernando Espinoza-Mercado, MD

Visiting Scientist Email: fernando.mercado@cshs.org

Kathleen Kershaw

Research Postdoc Email: kathleen.kershaw@cshs.org

Learn More

Kathleen "Katie" Kershaw, PhD, received her bachelor's degree from Santa Clara University. She earned her doctorate in molecular and cellular pathology from the UCLA, where she studied TCF/LEF based Wnt/β-catenin signaling in pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma. In the Underhill Laboratory and working with Stephen Shiao, MD, PhD, at Cedars-Sinai, Kershaw will investigate the role of the microbiome in a tumor's immune response to radiation therapy.

Muhammad Umair Khalique

Research Associate Email: muhammad.khalique@cshs.org

Jose Limon-Tello, PhD

Project Scientist Email: jose.limon-tello@cshs.org

Learn More

Jose Limon-Tello, PhD, received his bachelor’s degree from the University of California, Santa Barbara, and his doctorate from the University of California, Irvine, where he investigated the immunomodulatory effects of active-site mTOR kinase inhibitors in the laboratory of David Fruman, PhD. Limon-Tello’s current research interests are on host mycobiota interactions as they relate to health and disease in the gastrointestinal tract.

Christopher Nguyen

Research Associate Email: christopher.nguyenx@cshs.org

Seeun Oh

Seeun Oh

Graduate Student Email: seeun.oh@cshs.org

Learn More

Seeun Oh received her bachelor's degree and master's degree from South Korea. She moved to the United States in 2012 and worked as a research assistant at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill before joining the Graduate Program in Biomedical Science and Translational Medicine at Cedars-Sinai. Her current research focuses on the role of hexokinase, an enzyme of glycolysis, in innate responses to microbial recognition.

Marissa Paterson

Graduate Student Email: marissa.paterson@cshs.org

Learn More

Marissa Paterson graduated from Loyola Marymount University with a bachelor’s degree in biochemistry before joining the Graduate Program in Biomedical Science and Translational Medicine at Cedars-Sinai. Her research focuses on dectin-1-triggered LC3-associated phagocytosis and its role in shaping adaptive immune responses.

Purnima Sharma

Purnima Sharma

Research Associate Email: purnima.sharma@cshs.org

Andrea Wolf, PhD

Assistant Professor Email: andrea.wolf@cshs.org

Learn More

Andrea Wolf, PhD, received her doctorate in biomedical sciences from the University of California, San Francisco, where she studied the adaptive T cell responses to Mycobacterium tuberculosis infection. Wolf then joined the Underhill Laboratory to study the innate immune responses of phagocytic cells to microbes. Her research has focused on the role that degradation of the bacterial cell wall plays in the induction of inflammatory signals necessary for controlling bacterial infections such as Staphylococcus aureus. Wolf has identified a role for the metabolic enzyme hexokinase in innate immune sensing of bacterial cell wall peptidoglycan. Her research has begun to examine the connections between cellular metabolism and the sensing of microbes by phagocytic cells.