Clinical Scholars Grant Application

Cedars-Sinai Clinical Scholar and Eigler-Whiting-Mann Grants

The overall goal of the Cedars-Sinai Clinical Scholars Grant Program is to assist promising investigators in the early stages of their career development to become well-trained clinician-scientists competitive for National Institutes of Health (NIH) research project (R01) grant support.

To accomplish this goal, seed grants will be awarded for the purpose of conducting studies to generate preliminary data to support an application for an NIH career development (K08 or K23) or research project (R01) grant. It is expected that this award will supplement other departmental sources of funding available for the applicant’s research career development and will not be the sole funds available to support the applicant’s salary and research efforts.

Applicants for this award must be enrolled in their first year of the Cedars-Sinai Clinical Scholars Program. Scholars must have successfully completed the first year program requirements prior to the award. Successful applicants must be able to devote a minimum of 50 percent of full-time effort to conducting research activities. The remaining effort may be devoted to research, clinical and teaching activities. See the full Grant Application Guidelines (PDF).

It is anticipated that multiple grants of up to $30,000 will be awarded, of which at least one will be an Eigler-Whiting-Mann Grant. Because the nature and scope of each award will vary, it is anticipated that the size of each award will vary also. Awards are contingent on the availability of funds.

2017 Grant Awardees

  • Jessica Chan, MD
  • Marwa Kaisey, MD
  • Michifumi Yamashita, MD
  • Odayme Quesada, MD

2016 Grant Awardees

  • Lenore Ackerman, MD
  • Omeed Elboudwarej, MD
  • Nicholas Manguso, MD
  • Justin Steggerda, MD

2015 Grant Awardees

  • Joseph Ebinger, MD
  • Christopher Almario, MD
  • Shouri Lahir, MD
  • David Angert, MD
  • Artak Labadzhyan, MD

2014 Grant Awardees

  • David Lange, MD
  • Pooja Nawathe, MD
  • Chidinma Chima-Melton, MD

2013 Grant Awardees

  • Stephen Shiao, MD
  • Irene Kim, MD
  • Janet Wei, MD
  • Namita Singh, MD
  • Kade Birkeland, RPH, PharmD

2012 Grant Awardees

  • Erica Wang, MD
  • Natalia Babkina, MD
  • Jianling Ji, MD

2011 Grant Awardees

  • B. J. Rimel, MD
  • Alice Chung, MD
  • Catherine Dang, MD
  • Heidi Shafi, MD
  • Tyler Cheung, MD

2010 Grant Awardees

  • Fnu Deepinder, MD
  • Heather Jones, MD
  • Silvia Kurtovic, MD
  • Frank Ong, MD
  • Chrisandra Shufelt, MD

2009 Grant Awardees

  • Rashmi Mullur, MD
  • Anna Milanesi, MD
  • Yoko Miyasaki, MD
  • Joshua Pevnick, MD
  • Ines Donangelo, MD

2008 Grant Awardees

  • Victor Cheng, MD
  • Harmik Soukiasian, MD
  • Tsuyoshi Todo, MD

The Eigler-Whiting-Mann Grant was established to support the research aims of deserving young postdoctoral biomedical investigators. Neil Eigler, MD, James Whiting, PhD, and Brian Mann established the grant recognizing their long-standing commitment to Cedars-Sinai. The donors specifically wish to recognize the ongoing need to provide seed funding for promising investigators who have yet to establish a track record of competitive grant funding in a particular discipline.