Search Menu Globe Arrow Right Close

Clinical Scholar and Eigler-Whiting-Mann Grants

The goal of the Clinical Scholars Grant Program is to assist promising investigators in becoming well-trained clinician-scientists who are competitive for National Institutes of Health (NIH) research project (R01) grant support.

Cedars-Sinai awards seed grants to Clinical Scholar investigators so they can conduct studies to generate preliminary data to support an application for an NIH career development (K08 or K23) or research project (R01) grant.

These one-year grants are intended to supplement other departmental funding available for the applicant’s research career development and should not be expected to be the sole support for the applicant’s salary and research efforts.

Multiple grants of up to $30,000 are awarded, of which at least one will be an Eigler-Whiting-Mann Grant. Neil Eigler, MD, James Whiting, PhD, and Brian Mann established the grant that bears their names to recognize their longstanding commitment to Cedars-Sinai. The donors specifically wish to recognize the ongoing need to provide seed funding for promising postdoctoral biomedical investigators who have yet to establish a track record of competitive grant funding in a particular discipline. Awards are contingent on the availability of funds.

Requirements for Application

Applicants for Clinical Scholar and Eigler-Whiting-Mann grants must be enrolled in their first year of the Clinical Scholars Program and successfully completed the coursework and the grant writing workshops. Second-year scholars who did not receive a Clinical Scholar or Eigler-Whiting-Mann Grant the previous year may also apply.

Successful applicants must be able to devote a minimum of 50% of their full-time effort to conducting research activities.

The remaining effort may be devoted to clinical and teaching activities. Because the nature and scope of each award will vary, the dollar amount of each award will also very.

Grant Recipients


Amy Roach, MD
Arsen Osipov, MD
Changfu Yao, PhD
Michael Gezalian, MD
Srinivas Gaddam, MD
Ting Xie, PhD


Frank Diaz, MD
Hiroshi Gotanda, PhD
Maryam Rohani, MD
Priya Soni, MD
Ju Dong Yang, MD
Neal Yuan, MD


Akbarshakh Akhmerov, MD
Santhosh Nadipuram, MD
Alan Kwan, MD
Jun Gong, MD
Tanyalak Parimon, MD


Jessica Chan, MD
Marwa Kaisey, MD
Michifumi Yamashita, MD
Odayme Quesada, MD


Lenore Ackerman, MD
Omeed Elboudwarej, MD
Nicholas Manguso, MD
Justin Steggerda, MD


Joseph Ebinger, MD
Christopher Almario, MD
Shouri Lahir, MD
David Angert, MD
Artak Labadzhyan, MD


David Lange, MD
Pooja Nawathe, MD
Chidinma Chima-Melton, MD


Stephen Shiao, MD
Irene Kim, MD
Janet Wei, MD
Namita Singh, MD
Kade Birkeland, RPH, PharmD


Erica Wang, MD
Natalia Babkina, MD
Jianling Ji, MD


B. J. Rimel, MD
Alice Chung, MD
Catherine Dang, MD
Heidi Shafi, MD
Tyler Cheung, MD


Fnu Deepinder, MD
Heather Jones, MD
Silvia Kurtovic, MD
Frank Ong, MD
Chrisandra Shufelt, MD


Rashmi Mullur, MD
Anna Milanesi, MD
Yoko Miyasaki, MD
Joshua Pevnick, MD
Ines Donangelo, MD


Victor Cheng, MD
Harmik Soukiasian, MD
Tsuyoshi Todo, MD

Have Questions or Need Help?

If you have questions or would like more information about the Clinical Scholars Program at Cedars-Sinai, please call or send us a message.

Emma Yates Casler, Program Manager