Internal Medicine Residency Training Program Expert Team

Participants in the Cedars-Sinai Internal Medicine Residency Training Program have the opportunity to train with world-renowned physicians, who in their own right have advanced the practice of medicine.

Residency Training Program Leadership

  • Amanda T. Ewing, MD
    Director, Internal Medicine Residency Program
  • Paul W. Noble, MD
    Chair, Department of Medicine
    Director, Women's Guild Lung Institute
  • Mark S. Noah, MD
    Associate Dean, Medical Education in Academic Affairs
    Director, Primary Care Residency Training in General Internal Medicine
    Melvin Brody, MD, Chair in Medical Education
  • Jaime Betancourt, MD
    Associate Director, Residency Training Program
  • Anish B. Desai, MD
    Associate Director, Residency Training Program
  • Arthur Gomez, MD
    Associate Director, Residency Training Program
  • Robert I. Goodman, MD
    Associate Director, Residency Training Program
  • Casey Kaneshiro, MD
    Associate Director, Residency Training Program
  • Lili Shek, MD
    Associate Director, Residency Training Program
    Director, Resident Quality Improvement
  • Christopher V. Almario, MD 
    Co-director, Resident Research
  • Mariko L. Ishimori, MD
    Co-director, Resident Research

Physicians who are full-time members of the Cedars-Sinai Department of Internal Medicine are listed below.

Cedars-Sinai Department of Medicine Faculty

  • Eduardo Marbán, MD, PhD
    Director, Smidt Heart Institute
    Mark S. Siegel Family Endowed Professor
  • Babak Azarbal, MD
    Associate Program Director, Post-Graduate Education in Interventional Cardiology
  • C. Noel Bairey Merz, MD
    Women's Guild Endowed Chair in Women's Health
    Director, Barbara Streisand Women's Heart Center
    Director, Preventive and Rehabilitative Cardiac Center
  • Daniel S. Berman, MD
    Chief, Cardiac Imaging and Nuclear Cardiology
    Director, Artificial Intelligence Medicine Program 
    Director, Biomedical Research Institute  
  • Bojan Cercek, MD, PhD
    Eleanor and Harold Foonberg Chair in Cardiac Intensive Care
    Director, Coronary Care Units
    Co-Director, Atherosclerosis Research Center
  • Sumeet S. Chugh, MD
    Director, Heart Rhythm Center 
    Section Chief, Electrophysiology 
    Associate Director, Genomic Cardiology in the Smidt Heart Institute
    Pauline and Harold Price Endowed Chair in Cardiac Electrophysiology Research
  • Kuang-Yuh-Chyu, MD, PhD
    Staff Cardiologist
  • Eugenio Cingolani, MD
    Director, Cardiogenetics Program
  • Lawrence S. Czer, MD
    Medical Director, Heart Transplant Program
    Co-Medical Director, Cardiothoracic Surgery Database
    Associate Medical Director, Mechanical Circulatory Support Program
  • Joshua I. Goldhaber, MD
    Associate Director, Coronary Intensive Care Unit
    Dorothy and Phillip Lyon Endowed Chairman in Laser Research
  • Swaminatha Gurudevan, MD
    Staff Cardiologist, Cardiac Imaging Center
  • Michele A. Hamilton, MD
    Director, Heart Failure Program
  • Antoine Hage, MD
    Director of Solid Organ Transplant Cardiology
  • Michelle M. Kittleson, MD, PhD
    Director of Post-Graduate Medical Education in Heart Failure and Transplantation
  • Jon A. Kobashigawa, MD
    DSL/Thomas D. Gordon Chair in Heart Transplantation Medicine
  • Rajendra Makkar, MD
    Associate Director, Interventional Technologies in the Smidt Heart Institute
  • Jaime D. Moriguchi, MD
    Medical Director of the Mechanical Circulatory Support Program
  • Jignesh K. Patel, MD, PhD
    Co-Medical Director of the Heart Transplantation Program
  • Prediman K. Shah, MD
    Director, Oppenheimer Atherosclerosis Research Center
    Shapell and Webb Family Chair in Cardiology
  • Michael M. Shehata, MD
    Associate Director, Fellowship Training in Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology
    Director, Pacemaker and Defribrillator Clinic
  • Takahiro Shiota, MD
    Associate Director, Cardiac Non-Invasive Laboratory
  • Chrisandra L. Shufelt, MD
    Associate Director, Barbra Streisand Women's Heart Center
  • Robert J. Siegel, MD
    Director, Cardiac Non-Invasive Laboratory
    S. Rexford Kennamer MD Chair in Cardiac Ultrasound
  • Xunzhang Wang, MD
    Director, Complex Ablation Laboratory
  • Janet Wei, MD
    Staff Cardiologist
  • Ronald G. Victor, MD
    Director, Hypertension Center
    Burns and Allen Chair in Cardiology Research

Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism


Medical Genetics

General Internal Medicine


Infectious Diseases

  • Stanley C. Jordan, MD
    Director, Division of Pediatric and Adult Nephrology
    Director, Kidney Transplantation and Transplant Immunology
  • Alice Peng, MD
    Associate Director, Kidney and Pancreas Transplant Center
  • Ashley Anh Vo, PharmD
    Administrative Director, Transplant Immunotherapy Program

Pulmonary/Critical Care Medicine
  • Peter Chen, MD
    Director, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
  • George E. Chaux, MD
    Medical Director, Lung Transplant Program
  • Jeremy A. Falk, MD
    Director, Pulmonary/Critical Care Fellowship Program
  • Sara Ghandehari, MD
    Director, Pulmonary Rehabilitation
    Assistant Director, Lung Transplant Program
  • Michael I. Lewis, MD
    Director, Respiratory Care Services
    Medical Director, Respiratory Intensive Care Unit
  • Zab Mosenifar, MD
    Executive Vice Chair, Department of Medicine  
    Co-Medical Director,  Women's Guild Lung Institute 
  • Paul W. Noble, MD
    Chair, Department of Medicine
    Director, Women's Guild Lung Institute
  • Isabel Pedraza, MD
    Director, Respiratory Intensive Care Services
  • Heather D. Jones, MD
    Director, Critical Care Intensivist Service 
  • Victor F. Tapson, MD   
    Director, Venous Thromboembolism and Pulmonary Vascular Disease Research Program   
    Director, Clinical Research, Women's Guild Lung Institute